Interview with the talented combo guard Trey Wertz

HSBasketballBR brings to our readers an interview with one of the most talented high school players, Trey Wertz. The interview is about his high school season and  recruitment. However, before the full interview, a brief summary of Wertz:

Position: Combo Guard

Height: 6-5

Weight: 180

Class of: 2018

School: Providence Day, North Carolina

Hometown: Charlotte, North Carolina

Undeclared

In his sophomore year, Trey Wertz made an incredible partnership with Devon Dotson on Providence Day (NC),  this partnership was so profitable that the team landed the state title and established itself as one of the greatest schools in North Carolina. Last season, the team had a record of 23-11 and yet, theydid not make a memorable campaign; to the next season expected a significant improvement.

He has played   as shooting guard  but can act in several positions and  he is seen as a combo guard. He is  an extremely talented player, who since entering high school, has been showing a great evolution of his game over the years.

With Dotson,  Wertz gets a new role that he did not have before: a scorer role. By the way, this partnership with Dotson goes beyond the blocks. The two are great friends off the court and practically inseparable.

He manages  spaces well in the court, he has a consistent mid-range pitch, good game vision, great footwork and finalizes with perfection plays in  that  finishes with layups, as well. He has a good IQ of basketball and manages to help his team in the defensive compression and the score 1-1.

Last season, he averaged 19.1 points, 6.2 rebounds and 2.8 assists in 23 games. In the AAU circuit, he is part of one of the strongest programs in the United States, the Team Loaded. Playing by branch in North Carolina.

A curious fact: His father, Mr. Langston Wertz Jr, covers high school basketball in North Carolina for the Charlotte Observer and inevitably, he ends up talking about his son there. Trey is the third generation of the Wertz and promises to make a lot of noise when he arrives  at college.

Speaking of college, Trey already has offers from YaleHarvard, Clemson, Temple, Virginia Tech and others, and he will receive more and more offers in his last year of high school.

Now that you know a little more about Trey Wertz, let’s interview:

Felipe – Last season in high school you had averages of 19.1 ppg, 6.2 rpg and 2.8 pts. They are very good averages, wanted to know what you are planning for next season? And what do you think needs improvement in your game?

Wertz – I just plan to build on the season from last year. I think for us to win more this year I’m going to have to up these numbers so I think our backcourt is primed for a big year. Honestly, I think every part of my game needs improvement. I can never get too good at something.

Felipe – You and Dotson did a very good AAU circuit, what do you think this partnership should bring about this year?

Wertz – I think playing together for a while has helped us form pretty good chemistry and I think we will only build on that this year. I think we’re ready to take the next step.

Felipe – You have received several offers from universities, are you thinking about when you will commit or cut your list?

Wertz – I may cut my list here in the next couple weeks but I hope to commit in early November.

Felipe – We are in the era of “One And Done”, so this question is very obvious when we observe its potential. Do you think about it?

Wertz – I do but I’ll only leave if the time is right. If that’s 1, 2, 3 or I don’t leave early it just all depends.

Felipe – Tell us a little about your style of play and which player you most admire today in the NBA?

Wertz – I think I’m a combo guard, who’s strengths are shooting, scoring, and creating plays for myself and others. My favorite players are Steph Curry, Devin Booker, CJ McCollum, James Harden, and Kevin Durant. I watch a lot of other people but those are my main ones I would say.

Reviewed by Caroline Carmo 

Follow HSBasketballBR on Our Social Sites:

Esse post foi publicado em Entrevista e marcado , por Felipe Souza. Guardar link permanente.

Sobre Felipe Souza

Sou o criador do site HSBasketballBR e do Blog do Souza. Fui o primeiro brasileiro a escrever sobre high school para um site americano, o D1Vision. Trabalhei para a Liga Super Basketball como repórter e assessor de imprensa. Também escrevi para os blogs como Jumper Brasil e TimeOut Brasil, tive textos publicados pelo Bala Na Cesta. Trabalho de Scout nas horas vagas e acredito que o estudo diário do basquete, me faz um profissional melhor.

Deixe um comentário

Este site utiliza o Akismet para reduzir spam. Saiba como seus dados em comentários são processados.